

Annual Meeting Thursday, January 10, 2013 3:00 p.m. Lake Melissa Room, Human Services Building Detroit Lakes, MN

Meeting called by:	Heath Peterson
Type of meeting:	Annual Meeting
Attendees:	John Okeson, Barry Nelson, Heath Peterson, Paul Joyce, Chuck Jost, Abby Anderson
	Staff present: Jon Thomsen, Guy Fischer, Shawn Olson
	Others present: Becker County Administrator Jack Ingstad
Board Members Absent:	Mike Maloney

Agenda topics

- **1)** Call Annual Meeting to order: The 2012 EDA Board President Heath Peterson called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.
- 2) Oath of Office: The Oath of Office was administered to the EDA Board of Directors that were present.
- **3)** Election of Officers for 2012:
 - **a) President:** H Peterson opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board President for 2013. **Motion** and second to nominate H Peterson, (J Okeson, C Jost), carried.
 - **b)** Vice President: H Peterson opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Vice President for 2013. Motion and second to nominate Paul Joyce (J Okeson, A Anderson), carried.
 - **C)** Treasurer/Assistant Treasurer: H Peterson opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer for 2013. Motion and second to nominate Mike Maloney as the Treasurer and Jon Thomsen, the Housing Director, as the Assistant Treasurer (C Jost, P Joyce), carried.
 - **d)** Secretary/Assistant Secretary: H Peterson opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Secretary and Assistant Secretary for 2013. Motion and second to nominate Abby Anderson on as the Secretary and J Thomsen, the Housing Director, as the Assistant Secretary, (J Okeson, P Joyce), carried.
- **4)** Approval of 2013 Annual Meeting Agenda: Motion and second to approve the Agenda as presented (P Joyce, J Okeson), carried.
- 5) Approval of Minutes from 2012 Annual Meeting: Motion and second to approve the Minutes from the 2012 Annual Meeting (P Joyce, A Anderson), carried.
- 6) EDA Board of Directors:
 - **a)** Date and Time of 2013 Board Meetings: Motion and second to meet at 3:00 at the Lake Melissa Room at the Becker County Human Services Building on the following dates: January 10, February 14, March 14, April 11, May 9, June 13, July 11, August 8, September 12, October 10, November 14, and December 12, 2013 (P Joyce, C Jost), carried.
 - **b)** Board of Directors Conflict of Interest Policy: The Policy was reviewed; no conflicts were noted.
 - **C)** Becker County EDA Housing Committee:
 - (1) EDA Board Member Liaison Appointment: Motion and second to appoint Chuck Jost as the EDA Board Member Liaison for 2013 (P Joyce, J Okeson), carried.
 - (2) Housing Committee Member Appointments: Motion and second to re-appoint T Janes, K Misson and M Otte to the Housing Committee for 2013 (A Anderson, P Joyce), carried.
 - (3) Becker County EDA Resident Advisory Board Appointments: Motion and second to appoint all Section 8 and Public Housing Program Participants to the Resident Advisory Board and appoint R Lee as their 2013 Liaison to the Housing Committee (J Okeson, P Joyce), carried.

- **d)** Becker County EDA Depositories Bank: Motion and second to name American National Bank, First Security Bank, Bell State Bank, United Community Bank, Midwest Bank and Bremer Bank as the EDA's depository banks (P Joyce, A Anderson), carried.
- e) 2012 EDA General Fund Budget: Administrator Ingstad spoke briefly towards the County's Design Team; discussion followed on the opportunities for work that is being performed by staff and the need for those departments to cover those costs. Motion and second to approve the proposed budget with a request to the County for \$42,000 to be covered by other county departments (P Joyce, A Anderson), carried. Motion and second to commit an additional \$24,646 in reserves to go towards the 2013 proposed budget shortfall (C Jost, P Joyce), carried. There being no further business brought before Board,

7) Adjourn: President Peterson adjourned the meeting at 4:05 pm.

Jon Thomsen

ATTEST:

Respectfully submitted:

<u>/s/</u> Housing Director <u>/s/ Heath Peterson</u> EDA Board President