

Annual Meeting Thursday, January 14, 2010 3:00 p.m. Lake Melissa Room, Human Services Building Detroit Lakes, MN

Meeting called by:	Dan Aune
Type of meeting:	Annual Meeting
Attendees:	Harry Salminen, John Bellefeuille, Dan Aune, Paul Joyce,
	Michael Brown (arrived at 3:15),
	Staff present: Jon Thomsen, Guy Fischer, Shawn Olson
	Others present: None
Board Members Absent:	2 Vacant Board Positions
Agenda topics	

- 1) Call Annual Meeting to order: The 2009 EDA Board President Dan Aune called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.
- 2) Oath of Office: The Oath of Office was administered to the EDA Board of Directors.
- **3)** Election of Officers for 2010:
 - **a)** President: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board President for 2010. Motion and second to nominate Dan Aune, (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille). There were no other nominations. Motion and second to cease nominations and unanimously elect D Aune as President of the EDA Board for 2010 (J Bellefeuille, H Salminen), carried.
 - b) Vice President: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Vice President for 2010. Motion and second to nominate P Joyce (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille). There were no other nominations. Motion and second to cease nominations and unanimously elect P Joyce as Vice President of the EDA Board for 2010 (J Bellefeuille, H Salminen), carried.
 - C) Treasurer/Assistant Treasurer: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer for 2010. Motion and second to nominate M Brown as the Treasurer, (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille). Motion to nominate J Thomsen, the Housing Director, as the Assistant Treasurer (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried. There were no other nominations. Motion and second to cease nominations and unanimously elect D Aune as President of the EDA Board for 2010 (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille), carried.
 - **d)** Secretary/Assistant Secretary: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Secretary and Assistant Secretary for 2010. Motion and second to nominate S Olson, the Financial Manager, as the Secretary, (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille). Motion to nominate J Thomsen, the Housing Director, as the Assistant Secretary, (P Joyce, H Salminen). There were no other nominations. Motion and second to cease nominations and unanimously elect S Olson as Secretary and J Thomsen as Assistant Secretary of the EDA Board for 2010 (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille), carried.
- 4) Approval of 2010 Annual Meeting Agenda: Motion and second to approve the Agenda as presented (P Joyce, J Bellefeuille), carried.
- 5) Approval of Minutes from 2009 Annual Meeting: Motion and second to approve the Minutes from the 2009 Annual Meeting (J Bellefeuille, H Salminen), carried.
- **6)** 2009 Annual Report of Activities: J Thomsen directed the Boards attention to the written reports detailing the housing and economic development activities for 2009; no action taken. (M Brown arrived at this point).

7) EDA Board of Directors:

- a) Date and Time of 2010 Board Meetings: Discussion followed on the number of meetings, date/time. Motion and second to meet at 3:30 at the Lake Melissa Room at the Becker County Human Services Building on the following dates: January 14, February 11, March 11, April 8, May 13, June 10, July 8, August 12, September 9, October 14, (Wednesday) November 10, and December 9, 2010 (P Joyce, H Salminen), carried.
- **b)** Board of Directors Conflict of Interest Policy: The Policy was reviewed. One Board Member reported a potential conflict of interest due to the fact that he is employed as the garbage hauler in Lake Park and provides garbage collection services for properties owned by the EDA in Lake Park.

C) Becker County EDA – Housing Committee:

- (1) EDA Board Member Liaison Appointment: Motion and second not to appoint a Board Member as the EDA Board Member Liaison for 2010 (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
- (2) Housing Committee Member Appointments: Motion and second to re-appoint those that are currently in existence and would like to continue (T Janes, K Misson and M Otte) to the Housing Committee for 2010 (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
- (3) Becker County EDA Resident Advisory Board Appointments: Motion and second to appoint all Section 8 and Public Housing Program Participants to the Resident Advisory Board and appoint R Lee as their 2010 Liaison to the Housing Committee (H Salminen, M Brown), carried.
- **d)** Becker County EDA Depositories Bank: Motion and second to name the Midwest Bank and Wells Fargo Bank as depositories for EDA monies (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille), carried.
- e) 2010 EDA General Fund Budget: Staff presented the 2010 EDA General Fund Budget. Discussion followed. Motion and second to adopt the 2010 General Fund Budget as presented (H Salminen, M Brown), carried.
- 8) Adjourn: Motion and second to adjourn the meeting at 3:30 (J Bellefeuille, M Brown), carried.

ATTEST:

Respectfully submitted:

/s/ Jon Thomsen

Housing Director

/s/ Dan Aune EDA Board President