

Annual Meeting Thursday, January 8, 2009 3:00 p.m.

Lake Melissa Room, Human Services Building Detroit Lakes, MN

Meeting called by: Dan Aune

Type of meeting: Annual Meeting

Attendees: Harry Salminen, John Bellefeuille, Dan Aune, Paul Joyce, Karen Gray,

Terry Johnson (arrived at 3:25),

Staff present: Jon Thomsen, Guy Fischer, Shawn Olson

Others present: None

Board Members Absent: Michael Brown

Agenda topics

- 1) Call Annual Meeting to order: The 2008 EDA Board Vice President Dan Aune called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. Introductions were made.
- **2)** Oath of Office: The Oath of Office was administered to the EDA Board of Directors.
- 3) Election of Officers for 2009:
 - **a) President:** D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board President for 2009. **Motion** and second to nominate Dan Aune, (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The unanimous motion carried to appoint Dan Aune as President of the EDA Board for 2009.
 - **b)** Vice President: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Vice President for 2009. **Motion** and second to nominate Terry Johnson (D Aune, H Salminen). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Terry Johnson as Vice President of the EDA Board for 2009.
 - C) Treasurer/Assistant Treasurer: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer for 2008. Motion and second to nominate Paul Joyce as the Treasurer, (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille). Motion to nominate J Thomsen, the Housing Director, as the Assistant Treasurer and the Assistance Secretary (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried. There were no other nominations for Treasurer and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Paul Joyce as Treasurer of the EDA Board for 2009.
 - **d)** Secretary/Assistant Secretary: D Aune opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Secretary for 2009. **Motion** and second to nominate Karen Gray as the Secretary, (P Joyce, H Salminen). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Karen Gray as Secretary of the EDA Board for 2009.
- **4)** Approval of 2009 Annual Meeting Agenda: Motion and second to approve the Agenda as presented (H Salminen, K Gray), carried.
- **5)** Approval of Minutes from 2008 Annual Meeting: Motion and second to approve the Minutes from the 2008 Annual Meeting (P Joyce, H Salminen), carried.
- **6) 2008 Annual Report of Activities:** J Thomsen directed the Boards attention to the written report detailing the housing and economic development activities for 2008; discussion followed; no action taken.

7) EDA Board of Directors:

- **a)** Date and Time of 2009 Board Meetings: Motion and second to meet at 3:30 at the Lake Melissa Room at the Becker County Human Services Building on the following dates: January 8, February 12, March 12, April 9, May 14, June 11 July 9, August 13, September 10, October 8, November 12, and December 10, 2009 (H Salminen, K Gray), carried.
- **b)** Board of Directors Conflict of Interest Policy: The Policy was reviewed. One Board Member reported a potential conflict of interest due to the fact that he is employed as the garbage hauler in Lake Park and provides garbage collection services for properties owned by the EDA in Lake Park.
- C) Becker County EDA Housing Committee:
 - (1) EDA Board Member Liaison Appointment: Motion and second to appoint Karen Gray as the EDA Board Member Liaison for 2009 (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
 - (2) Housing Committee Member Appointments: Motion and second to re-appoint those that are currently in existence and would like to continue (T Janes, K Misson and M Otte) to the Housing Committee (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
 - (3) Becker County EDA Resident Advisory Board Appointments: Motion and second to appoint all Section 8 and Public Housing Program Participants to the Resident Advisory Board and appoint R Lee as their 2009 Liaison to the Housing Committee (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
- **d) Becker County EDA Depositories Bank: Motion** and second to name the Midwest Bank and Wells Fargo Bank as depositories for EDA monies (H Salminen, J Bellefeuille), carried.
- **e)** 2009 EDA General Fund Budget: Staff presented the 2009 EDA General Fund Budget. Discussion followed. **Motion** and second to adopt the 2009 General Fund Budget as presented (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried. (Terry Johnson arrived at this point)
- 8) Adjourn: Motion and second to adjourn the meeting at 3:27 (J Bellefeuille, H Salminen), carried.

ATTEST:			
Respectfully subm	itted:		
<u>/s/</u>	Jon Thomsen	<u>/s/</u>	Dan Aune
Housing Director		EDA Board President	