

Annual Meeting Thursday, January 10,2008 3:30 p.m.

Lake Melissa Room, Human Services Building Detroit Lakes, MN

Meeting called by: Mike Metelak

Type of meeting: Annual Meeting

Attendees: Harry Salminen, Karen Mulari, Mike Metelak, Terry Johnson, Paul Joyce,

Gerald Schram (arrived at 3:40), Dan Aune

Staff present: Jon Thomsen, Guy Fischer, Shawn Olson

Others present: S Retzer (MN DEED)

Board Members Absent: None

Agenda topics

- 1) Call Annual Meeting to order: 2007 EDA Board President M Metelak called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m.
- 2) Oath of Office: The Oath of Office was administered to each member of the EDA Board of Directors.
- 3) Approval of 2008 Annual Meeting Agenda: Motion and second to approve the Agenda as presented (H Salminen, K Mulari), carried.
- 4) Election of Officers for 2008:
 - **a)** President: M Metelak opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board President for 2008. **Motion** and second to nominate Gerald Schram, (T Johnson, P Joyce). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Gerald Schram as President of the EDA Board for 2008. (Gerald Schram took over the meeting at this point).
 - **b)** Vice President: G Schram opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Vice President for 2008. **Motion** and second to nominate Dan Aune (T Johnson, G Schram). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Dan Aune as Vice President of the EDA Board for 2008.
 - C) Treasurer/Assistant Treasurer: G Schram opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer for 2008. Motion and second to nominate Terry Johnson as the Treasurer and Housing Director Jon Thomsen as Assistant Treasurer, (K Mulari, H Salminen). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Terry Johnson as Treasurer and Jon Thomsen as Assistant Treasurer of the EDA Board for 2008.
 - **d)** Secretary/Assistant Secretary: G Schram opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Secretary and Assistant Secretary for 2008. **Motion** and second to nominate Paul Joyce as the Secretary and Housing Director Jon Thomsen as the Assistant Secretary, (D Aune, K Mulari). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. The motion carried to appoint Paul Joyce as Secretary and Jon Thomsen as Assistant Secretary of the EDA Board for 2008.
- **5)** Approval of Minutes from 2007 Annual Meeting: Motion and second to approve the Minutes from the 2007 Annual Meeting (M Metelak, H Salminen), carried.
- **6) 2007 Annual Report of Activities:** Staff presented the annual report of housing and economic development activities. **Motion** and second to accept the report (M Metelak, H Salminen), carried.

7) EDA Board of Directors:

- a) Date and Time of 2008 Board Meetings: Motion and second to meet at 3:30 at the Lake Melissa Room at the Becker County Human Services Building on the following dates: January 14, February 14, March 13, April 10, May 8, June 12, July 10, August 14, September 11, October 9, November 13, and December 11, 2008 (K Mulari, H Salminen), carried.
- **b)** Board of Directors Conflict of Interest Policy: The Policy was reviewed and 6 Board Members disclosed that they were not aware of any conflict of interest. One Board Member reported a potential conflict of interest due to the fact that he is employed as the garbage hauler in Lake Park and provides garbage collection services for properties owned by the EDA in Lake Park.
- C) Becker County EDA Housing Committee:
 - (1) EDA Board Member Liaison Appointment: Motion and second to appoint Gerald Schram as the EDA Board Member Liaison for 2008 (H Salminen, M Metelak), carried.
 - (2) Housing Committee Member Appointments: Motion and second to re-appoint those that are currently in existence and would like to continue (T Janes, K Misson and M Otte) to the Housing Committee (H Salminen, K Mulari), carried.
 - (3) Becker County EDA Resident Advisory Board Appointments: Motion and second to appoint all Section 8 and Public Housing Program Participants to the Resident Advisory Board and appoint R Lee as their 2008 Liaison to the Housing Committee (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
- **d) Becker County EDA Depositories Bank: Motion** and second to name the Midwest Bank and Wells Fargo Bank as depositories for EDA monies (H Salminen, K Mulari), carried.
- **e)** 2008 EDA General Fund Budget: Staff presented the 2008 EDA General Fund Budget. Discussion followed. **Motion** and second to adopt the 2008 General Fund Budget as presented (M Metelak, H Salminen), carried.
- 8) Other: There being no further business to be brought before the Board,
- **9)** Adjourn: Motion and second to adjourn the meeting at 4:17 (P Joyce, D Aune), carried.

| ATTEST. | | | |
|------------------------|-------------|---------------------|---------------|
| Respectfully submitted | i : | | |
| <u>/s/</u> | Jon Thomsen | <u>/s/</u> | Gerald Schram |
| Housing Director | | EDA Board President | |

ATTECT.