

Annual Meeting Thursday, January 11, 2007 3:30 p.m.

Lake Melissa Room, Human Services Building Detroit Lakes, MN

Meeting called by: Mike Metelak

Type of meeting: Annual Meeting

Attendees: Harry Salminen, Karen Mulari, Mike Metelak, Terry Johnson, Paul Joyce,

Gerald Schram, Dan Aune

Staff present: Jon Thomsen, Guy Fischer, Shawn Olson

Others present: None

Board Members Absent: None

Agenda topics

- 1) Call Annual Meeting to order: 2006 EDA Board President M Metelak called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.
- 2) Oath of Office: The Oath of Office was administered to each member of the EDA Board of Directors.
- 3) Election of Officers for 2007:
 - **a)** President: M Metelak opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board President for 2007. **Motion** and second to nominate M Metelak, (H Salminen, G Schram). There were no other nominations. **Motion** and second to cease nominations (T Johnson, K Mulari), carried. It was moved and seconded by unanimous vote to appoint Mike Metelak as President of the EDA Board for 2007.
 - **b)** Vice President: M Metelak opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Vice President for 2007. **Motion** and second to nominate Terry Johnson (H Salminen, D Aune). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. It was moved and seconded by unanimous vote to appoint Terry Johnson as Vice President of the EDA Board for 2007.
 - C) Treasurer/Assistant Treasurer: M Metelak opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer for 2007. Motion and second to nominate Gerald Schram as the Treasurer and Housing Director Jon Thomsen as Assistant Treasurer, (H Salminen, K Mulari). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. It was moved and seconded by unanimous vote to appoint Gerald Schram as Treasurer and Jon Thomsen as Assistant Treasurer of the EDA Board for 2007.
 - **d)** Secretary/Assistant Secretary: M Metelak opened Nominations for selection of EDA Board Secretary and Assistant Secretary for 2007. **Motion** and second to nominate Paul Joyce as the Secretary and Housing Director Jon Thomsen as the Assistant Secretary, (H Salminen, K Mulari). There were no other nominations and nominations were ceased and a vote was called. It was moved and seconded by unanimous vote to appoint Paul Joyce as Secretary and Jon Thomsen as Assistant Secretary of the EDA Board for 2007.
- **4) Approval of 2007 Annual Meeting Agenda: Motion** and second to approve the Agenda as presented (T Johnson, H Salminen), carried.
- **5) Minutes from 2006 Annual Meeting: Motion** and second to approve the Minutes from the 2006 Annual Meeting (P Joyce, H Salminen), carried.

6) 2006 Annual Report of Activities: Staff presented the annual report of housing and economic development activities. Discussion followed on the Permanent Supportive Housing program, brochure needed to market Becker County and the success of the agency.

7) EDA Board of Directors:

- **a)** Date and Time of 2007 Board Meetings: Motion and second to meet at 3:30 at the Lake Melissa Room at the Becker County Human Services Building on the following dates: February 8, March 8, April 12, May 10, June 8, July 12, August 9, September 13, October 11, November 15, and December 13, 2007 (T Johnson, K Mulari), carried.
- **b)** Board of Directors Conflict of Interest Policy: The Policy was reviewed and 6 Board Members disclosed that they were not aware of any conflict of interest. One Board Member reported a potential conflict of interest due to the fact that he is employed as the garbage hauler in Lake Park and provides garbage collection services for properties owned by the EDA in Lake Park.
- C) Becker County EDA Housing Committee:
 - (1) EDA Board Member Liaison Appointment: Motion and second to appoint Gerald Schram as the EDA Board Member Liaison for 2007 (T Johnson, H Salminen), carried.
 - **(2) Housing Committee Member Appointments: Motion** and second to re-appoint T Janes, K Misson and M Otte to the Housing Committee (P Joyce, G Schram), carried.
 - (3) Becker County EDA Resident Advisory Board Appointments: Motion and second to appoint all Section 8 and Public Housing Program Participants to the Resident Advisory Board and appoint R Lee as their 2007 Liaison to the Housing Committee (G Schram, D Aune), carried.
- **d)** Becker County EDA Depositories Bank: Motion and second to name the Midwest Bank and Wells Fargo Bank as depositories for EDA monies (H Salminen, K Mulari), carried.
- **e)** 2007 EDA General Fund Budget: Staff presented the 2007 EDA General Fund Budget. Motion and second to adopt the 2007 General Fund Budget as presented (H Salminen, P Joyce), carried.
- 8) Other: There being no further business to be brought before the Board,
- 9) Adjourn: Motion and second to adjourn the meeting at 3:58 (T Johnson, G Schram), carried.

ATTEST:			
Respectfully submitte	ed:		
/s/	Jon Thomsen	<u>/s/</u>	Mike Metelak
Housing Director		EDA Board President	